Let the 2011 WordCount Blogathon Begin

It’s May 1 which means the WordCount Blogathon led by Michelle Rafter has begun! As I mentioned previously, the focus for my 31 blogathon posts will be on the topic of turning 40 years old. Come by Motherlogue to read some fabulous guest posts, quotes about being 40 and my personal reflections as I launch into the next decade of this beautiful thing called life.

To kick off the month, I’ll share these words from Mary Karr, a writer that I’m grateful to have found in the the last month of the last year of my 30s:

If you live in the dark a long time and the sun comes out, you do not cross into it whistling. There’s an initial uprush of relief at first, then-for me, anyway- a profound dislocation. My old assumptions about how the world works are buried, yet my new ones aren’t yet operational.There’s been a death of sorts, but without a few days in hell, no resurrection is possible.

I see turning 40 as a fresh start in many ways, a time to look at what lies ahead in life, a time to shape, to rediscover and to let go. To leave the old assumptions behind me.

As my sweet three-year-old son Eli would say,”It’s a great thing.”

(Photo courtesy of stock.xchng)

This entry was posted in 2011 WordCount Blogathon and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Let the 2011 WordCount Blogathon Begin

  1. Tara says:

    Liz, I turned 39 in March, and I love your topic. Can’t wait to see what you’ve got to say!

  2. Liz says:

    Thanks, Tara! Happy 39th year to you :)!

  3. Lisa Carter says:

    Welcome to 40, Liz! (Or almost anyhow, you haven’t said what day your birthday is, have you?!)

    I’ve found my first two years in this decade to be really freeing, as if I can finally be who I always felt I was inside but somehow had to tame or subvert. No more! Bliss!

    It’ll be great to hear yours and others’ thoughts on the topic this month…

  4. I was 40 once…

  5. Liz says:

    @Lisa- you’re right, I haven’t said the date. May 25 will be the official start of Decade 4.0!

  6. Julie says:

    I’m on the back end of 40 so I can completely relate to your blog! Looking forward to it!

  7. Liz,

    I turned 40 a couple of years ago, will be 43 this year. Things are definitely different but can’t say that it is all due to turning 40. I must admit that I have a lower tolerance for people and their bullshit. I find that I do not appreciate the children walking masquerading in adult bodies that I seem to keep coming across.

    Hope you enjoy turning 40 and good luck at blogathon.

    Jenn

  8. Marvin says:

    Hi Liz. 4.0 is ahead of me only by 2.5 years. I’m pleased that you are positive. Gives me hope that it won’t be as bad as I think it will for me. lol!

  9. Pingback: Blogathon 2011 Starts Today » Health and Wellness Coaching

  10. 40 is only big because it was once the lifespan of the average peasant, so anything more was gravy. Now it isn’t even half the lifespan of most of the people turning 40 this year.

  11. Jan Udlock says:

    I can’t remember much about 40 other than I thought I was very close to being dead. Now that I’m older, 40 is a milestone…but you have all of your life ahead of you! Jennifer, I agree, that being older you don’t care much about what people say anymore.

    Liz, I’m so glad you’re participating in the blogathon.
    jan

  12. Andrea says:

    Here’s to fresh starts!

Leave a Reply

