Happy National Day on Writing!

Thanks to the folks at SheWrites, I found out that today is the National Day on Writing. As they said, it’s for real — thanks to work by the National Council of English teachers, this was passed by the U.S. Senate.

SheWrites posed a challenge: say why you write in 140 characters or less. Here’s my response:

Writing connects me to a deeper place within myself and opens me to the larger community of universal, shared experiences.

Why do YOU write? Please post it as a comment below, and if you’re on Twitter post it using the hashtag #whyiwrite

This entry was posted in Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Happy National Day on Writing!

  1. sydrak says:

    Happy National Day on Writing!
    I just found this out too!:P

    Why do I write?
    Writing is magic. An adventure rises from the paper, like a phoenix rises from the ashes.

  2. Carolyn says:

    To be a river rather than a bog. The old thoughts get sorted, shaped and released so fresh ones have room to flow in (or trickle as they sometimes do).

  3. LindaLou says:

    I write because I like the musicality of words and I like to sort through the ideas in my head and heart and I like connecting those ideas in ways that may possibly prove unique and interesting to somebody.

Leave a Reply

