7 Things I Gained By Doing the 2012 Blogathon

You may recall in my first post for the 2012 blogathon, I said this:

We’re keeping it simple, friends. That’s the rule this month.

And I shared seven reasons why I was doing Michelle Rafter’s Blogathon again this year. In the same spirit, I’m closing out Blogathon 2012 with a list of seven things I’ve gained by blogging for the past 31 (!) days.

  1. Daily writing is good for my soul. This month served as a powerful reminder.
  2. Community! I thrive on reader comments and exchanges; this month of dialogue did not disappoint.
  3. I reconnected with a friend and got to read his exceptional posts along the way. (Definitely worth the lost sleep as I drafted and posted for 31 days.)
  4. Blogging keeps my muse inspired and my inner editor in check. That’s a good balance.
  5. Google calendar is my new BFF (best friend forever) when it comes to organizing my writing life and posting schedule. (Refer to above…keep it simple and the writing calendar I created helped me do just that!)
  6. I have a renewed interest in blogging and seeing how I can take my blog to the next level.
  7. I crossed the finish line. Amidst days of shuffling kids to school, commuting to work, getting groceries and putting load after load of laundry through the wash…crossing a finish line for myself is, frankly, HUGE.

And there you have it: my final Blogathon 2012 post.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to 7 Things I Gained By Doing the 2012 Blogathon

  1. Jan Udlock says:

    Don’t gush but…You are super woman and I’m so proud of you. And I’m going to have to try out Google calender. Congrats for working so hard.

  2. Jan Udlock says:

    meant to say “Don’t want to gush but…” – you know what I meant. ;)

  3. I was talking with my sister this morning about calendars – and the trouble of keeping track of the kids’ stuff and work. Just shared a link to your post about Google calendar with both my sisters.

  4. Congrats! I put up my 31st post today too — and feel a little bit like the marathoner who stumbles across the finish line, only to puke behind a tree. ;)

  5. Liz says:

    This made me laugh out loud — you describe it so well!

  6. Pingback: Saturday Stand Outs | Motherlogue

Leave a Reply

