Maternal makeovers

My favorite magazine, Brain, Child arrived in the mail today. Once our boys were asleep I began to devour it. The cover essay “The Mom job: Nipping and tucking the maternal body,” depicts the experience of one mother who, after having three children (one set of twins), finds that she hates her post-partum body. She seeks out the possibility of having plastic surgery to help her get her fit tummy back.

I’m left with a few feelings after reading this essay: anger, compassion and self-confidence. I’m angry that women are made to feel “less than” after giving birth. Before I gave birth, someone told me in reference to her post-partum stretch marks, “They are like tattoos of my labors of love.” I couldn’t agree more. What a gift to give birth. True, I didn’t have stretch marks prior to carrying two babies around for nine months, but I’m thankful to have them now (the babies) and the marks serve as a reminder of my labor of love.

I feel compassion for women who are truly bothered by the results their pregnancies had on their bodies. This author didn’t seem to be vain or superficial; she was just not able to adjust to her “new look.” And, she was willing to undergo an expensive surgical procedure ($10,000) to lose her tummy.

Finally, I feel more self-confident as a result of reading this essay. One of the women interviewed, a psychologist, said that women who were larger or out of shape prior to pregnancy, have an easier time accepting their after baby body changes. Woot! Woot! Finally, it’s a benefit to have a larger build.

While I am comfortable with my “birthed two nine-pound-plus-baby-boys” body, since the birth of our second son about a year ago I’ve worked on getting healthier and more in shape. And, I like the results I’m seeing — both emotionally and physically. At the root of my happiness is the feeling that I’m a better example for my boys and I’m able to be more active with them. This isn’t about a flat tummy or perky breasts. Instead, getting in shape is a labor of love, just like my stretch mark “tattoos.”

This entry was posted in Motherhood. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Maternal makeovers

  1. What a great meditation on pregnancy, body changes and society. I haven’t read my own B,C yet but now I’m looking even more forward to it. Love the concept of tattoos. How we need to change our concept of beauty and worth.

Leave a Reply

