The Sun Magazine – Readers Write

About three years ago my friend CJ mentioned to me that her book group was reading a magazine for that month’s selection. She said she thought I would enjoy it. I purchased my first copy of The Sun. I loved it. That Christmas I asked for a subscription.

The Sun is chock full of heartfelt, beautiful prose. And, they manage to publish without including any advertising in the magazine. Reading my copy is something I look forward to each month.

One of my favorite parts of The Sun is the Readers Write section. Each month they have a theme on which readers can submit their writing. For example, Rain or Selling Out or Anger. The stories in these brief responses to a word prompt often leave me in awe of the strength and honesty of these readers who are also writers.

I’m thrilled and honored that my own submission on the theme, The Dinner Table, appears in the March 2009 issue of The Sun. You can check it out here.

This entry was posted in Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Sun Magazine – Readers Write

  1. Sarah says:

    Nice, Liz! Congratulations! You’re an inspiration. 🙂

  2. Congratulations on a beautiful piece! I’m so glad they included it. A powerful, well-written snapshot.

  3. Junko says:

    I am Japanese, and I was very moved by your story. Thank you for a great story!

  4. nathalie says:

    Hi, Liz – this is wonderful. I felt like you offered me a place at the table for a moment. What a beautiful experience. I love the Sun, too!

  5. Patti says:

    Liz – I finally got around to reading this and I burst into tears. Very embarassing because I’m in the school computer lab and a guy from my next class looked over at me and asked if I was all right. I told him my eyes were leaking from this dang headcold. Thanks for this story – you so totally rock!

Leave a Reply

