Just shrug it off

One of my cousins recently gave me four words of valuable advice: just shrug it off. I was questioning whether or not we would be depriving our son of a better education if he only attends half-day kindergarten. (There is a full day or half day program at the school he will attend next year. Half day is free, full day is not.) We are opting for half-day, largely because my husband is a stay-at-home dad and also because we are living on one income.

I fretted about this decision – what would he miss in the learning? In the socialization? This cousin happens to be a para educator in a kindergarten classroom and she assured me that our son won’t be at a disadvantage. Her sister-in-law, an elementary school teacher, agreed. They both reminded me that being at home and having one-on-one experiences at the zoo, art museum or reading with us would benefit him as well.

I appreciated the reassurance and the advice to just shrug it off. It’s so simple but she’s right. Sometimes as a parent, I just need to shrug it off. I need to trust my gut. Most of all, I must honor that I’m doing the best that I can and that my kids are going to be just fine.

This entry was posted in Parenting. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Just shrug it off

  1. Sunni says:

    I agree with the advice to shrug off. Be confident listening to your own gut and heart! (grin) To be the devil’s advocate on all-day vs. half-day kindergarten: I’m sure it varies by school, but I’ve heard that many local schools do not really add new programing to the full-day kindergarten… so being there longer each day may not add significant value. Personally I remember being bored in kindergarten so it doesn’t sound like a good idea to be bored for more hours everyday. BUT, above all I think this is an individual choice that should/will vary from family to family and school to school.

  2. Leah says:

    Plus your gut is really smart:).

    Half day seems like the best of both worlds. Full day can be really long. This way he gets more time with Brad and Eli at the park and zoo and hanging out at home and the socialization of school.

Leave a Reply

