Finding a Mentor

I believe in mentors. I’ve always had mentors and I’ve always mentored others at my day job. I am lucky to have a few folks I consider writing mentors, too.

This guest post, One is a Lonely Number, over at Write to Done is a good step-by-step on selecting and approaching a mentor. What the guest blogger, Jules, says might be just the impetus you need to just do it.

Really –  just do it. Find yourself a writing mentor. Chances are anyone you ask will be honored.

If you already have a mentor, how did you find him or her? What benefits have you seen as a result of your relationship? What benefits do you think your mentor realized as a result of the connection? Remember — the mentoring road goes both ways. The mentor and the mentee both benefit from the exchange and the learning that can happen in these relationships.

So, do it. Get a mentor or be a mentor. You’ll be glad you did.

This entry was posted in Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Finding a Mentor

  1. jesakalong says:

    Thanks for recommending the One is a Lonely Number post, Liz! You helped me light a fire for finding a new writing mentor to work with me on my creative nonfiction. I know the type of mentoring I want and it will likely require meeting someone new. My goal for the new year is to get involved with Denver’s Lighthouse writer’s organization (similar to Hugo House) and meet some new literary blood. Thanks for the kick in the pants!

  2. Jenni says:

    Me too! Thanks! So, do you have a mentor?

  3. Liz says:

    I consider Christina Katz a mentor, and I’m looking for a fiction mentor now, which was why reading that post was a bit of a kick in the pants for me, too! I also have peer mentors, like both of you (!), who are immensely helpful.

Leave a Reply

