Essay in Portland Family

I have an essay in Portland Family’s February issue (page 8). This essay, Number of Pregnancies? Three. Live Births? Two, is about my experience having a tubal pregnancy about four years ago. It was good to write about and good to re-read the essay.

When it happened, I remember my dad’s friend Jin saying that people have miscarriages and lose babies more than we know. It’s one of those things that we don’t talk about, I guess. The editor at Portland Family mentioned the same thing when she accepted this piece. I know that writing about losing a pregnancy was healing for me; I hope that maybe other women who read my essay will find some solace in a shared experience.

Image courtesy of Portland Family.

This entry was posted in Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Essay in Portland Family

  1. Stephanie says:

    I’m so glad you found a home for the essay, Liz. I’m sure it will resonate with many of PF’s readers. I’m also glad that it was a healing process to write it. Thanks for sharing!

  2. Liz says:

    Thanks, Stephanie! I appreciate your note. I’m glad it found a home, too.

  3. Jesaka Long says:

    Wow, Liz. Your beautiful essay left a mighty lump in my throat. I’m so glad you shared your story.

  4. Liz says:

    Thank you, J-Lo!

  5. I agree with Jesaka. So beautifully done. I’m so glad it’s out there for others to read as well as being a healing process for you. I think you’re right that it happens a lot. Your essay is giving a voice to the experience for more women than you’ll know. Well done.

Leave a Reply

