Read my guest post: Outside In

In October, I had the pleasure of interviewing Sara Backer, author of American Fuji. On her blog, Sara is now featuring guest posts from readers who have experiences to share about Japan. I’m thrilled to be the featured post this week:

The first time I went to Japan I was sixteen years old. My ability to speak Japanese was limited to singing (off key) the lyrics of a Japanese folk song, “Sakura”. During my interview with the sister city selection committee, I sat on my sweaty palms to stop my hands from shaking, but despite my nervousness the committee chose me as part of a delegation to Sapporo. Three brief weeks sparked an interest in a foreign culture that inspired me to return to Japan five years later after I graduated from college.

As the plane landed in Tokyo, I listened to the flight attendant in her high-pitched, polite Japanese and realized I didn’t understand a word she was saying. I got off the plane with three huge, black suitcases, my size nine feet, and a Japanese-English dictionary I would carry with me at all times. I stayed for three years, teaching English in junior and senior public high schools.

Read the rest of my post here.

This entry was posted in Japan and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

