Sunday Style: Self-Producing

Have I mentioned that I love the 52-week series (Qualities of Prosperous Writers) that Chrsitina Katz sends out every week? Having a focused topic related to writing each week is really wonderful. This week’s topic was self-producing. You might ask, “What does that mean?”Think Oprah. Think President Obama. Think Benjamin Franklin.

The basic gist, as Christina said is:

Take the power you have as a writer and leverage it for bigger and better plans. Inspire yourself first, and then you will inspire everyone whom you encounter.

I couldn’t agree more. I’ve had a bit of an awakening this week. I realized that as a writer I have a lot more opportunity to self-produce than I might in other professional arenas. It’s up to me to take a hold of these opportunities and make the most of them.

Yes, it can be scary…who is going to tell me what to do? What if I make a mistake? What if I fail?

At the same time, it is extremely exciting to be in a place where I can make choices about what I want to do. I can write fiction or non-fiction. I can pitch to magazines or enter contests or seek out an agent. I can create stories for adults or for children. I can study, I can teach, I can network. What I do and who I become as a writer is up to me.

Inspiring? I’d say so.

This entry was posted in 52 Qualities and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Sunday Style: Self-Producing

  1. janudlock says:

    Yes! Great thoughts and great post!

  2. Great points! Gives you that excited feeling of hope

  3. Abby says:

    Liz, that’s one of the things I love best about being a freelance writer. I can focus on whatever interests me at the time. I’ve gone through stints of writing about weddings, travel, pregnancy, etc. As my interests change, so can my writing.

  4. Liz says:

    Mary Jo, you have nailed it — the feeling of hope is just what I’m experiencing. And, yes, Abby, thank goodness for the flexibility of writing. Thanks to all of you for dropping by.

  5. I also felt hope when I read your post. I’ve been a bit stressed with all the projects I have going on. But your post made me realize that as a freelancer I have the power to make whatever decisions I need to in order to bring the stress/too much work down to an acceptable level for me. It is all up to me. Very empowering post.

  6. Liz says:

    Jennifer, thanks for stopping by. I’m so happy that my post helped you feel empowered. You bring up a great point — the ability to choose an appropriate work level at any given time is a real gift of freelancing!

  7. I love the fact that writing IS so flexible. Thanks for this reminder. Like Jennifer, I can get overwhelmed. It’s empowering to remember that the choice is mine.

Leave a Reply

