This need not be complicated

I just read this poem by William Carlos Williams and it was a beautiful reminder that this writing stuff need not be complicated. Sometimes saying something simply, with only a few words, can be just as beautiful as using elaborate words and complicated sentence structures.

This Is Just To Say

I have eaten/ the plums/ That were in/ the icebox/

and which/ you were probably/ saving/ for breakfast

Forgive me/ they were delicious/ so sweet/ and so cold

That being said, I’m sure it took hours to craft this poem. And Williams used great care in choosing when to use capital letters, as well as when selecting his words. What I appreciate is the style — it reminds me of a loving note left on the kitchen counter, expressing thanks and asking for forgiveness all at the same time. A simple, daily activity that shows us much humanity.

I read this poem because of a link to a writing contest about Real Food. If you’re interested, check out the guidelines here.

Photo courtesy of stock.xchng

This entry was posted in Reading, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to This need not be complicated

  1. Sarah says:

    I love this poem! Years ago, my friend, Jack, hand-wrote a copy of this poem on a scrap of paper and stuck it to his fridge. I had no idea it was a real poem. I thought it was a note to his roommate. It’s the kind of thing he would have written.

Leave a Reply

