Sunday Style: Me but not me (yet)

The July/August issue of Writer’s Digest arrived in my mailbox earlier this week. One section I always enjoy is Breaking In where they highlight three new authors and how they…you guessed it…broke in.

This month I was struck by how something about each of these people is similar to me. First, one author lives in Seattle. Check. Another author writes for young adults. Check – I’d like to do that, too. And third, one of the authors was a teacher in Japan on the same government-sponsored program as me. Check.

Well, humpf! Here are three writers with some of my same experiences. The difference is, they’ve published books. And, they’ve done a lot to get those books published.

Rather than wallow in self-pity, I’ve taken this as a message: it’s time for me to get cracking!

This entry was posted in Sunday Style, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Sunday Style: Me but not me (yet)

  1. Leah says:

    That’s a message I needed to hear too!

  2. Jesaka Long says:

    Love the way you think, Liz!

  3. Jan Udlock says:

    You can do it! You’re the only one that can make that choice!

Leave a Reply

