Going for it: NaNoWriMo

I remember a writer friend telling me five or six years ago that she was doing this “really cool thing…NaNoWriMo!” When she explained it to me, I was convinced she was crazy and wondered why anyone would try to write a novel in a month.

Well, it’s another one of those situations where you shouldn’t judge someone or you’ll end up doing the same thing (kind of like how I used to mock people for letting their kids sleep in their bed.) But, I digress.

So, if you haven’t guessed it already, I’m doing NaNoWriMo this year — National Novel Writing Month. For my mom, if you read this post, yes, I am crazy. I can see you shaking your head.

But, I can’t spend too much time posting on my blog when I should be writing some, even just a few, of the 50,000 words that I need to have by November 30. I’m going to take the approach of my friend Mary Jo, and will post updates here. For my own accountability and to share this unusual ride with readers of Motherlogue.

cumulative word count: 3521

mood and energy level: not as inspired as day one, but letting loose more

work I did besides actual writing: stared at my plot pyramid and wondered how I will fill the points between the five biggest points

 

This entry was posted in NaNoWriMo2010, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Going for it: NaNoWriMo

  1. Andrea says:

    Awesome! Good luck.

  2. Liz says:

    Thank you, Andrea – I appreciate the well wish!

  3. teamfisher says:

    you can do it! you can do it! let’s celebrate your accomplishment on the 30th, okay? cj

  4. Kim V says:

    OK, Liz . . . I sat here at my computer to work on my NaNo writing, but I’ve spent the past half hour reading your blog! No fair! It’s 8 am and I simply MUST get to work. It’s Day 4 and my word count is only 2167. Yikes! (P.S. I don’t usually use so many exclamation marks. I swear!)

  5. Liz says:

    CJ, thank you! Yes, celebrating on the 30th is just what I have in mind. Kim, sorry to divert your attention, but thank you for reading. We can do this NaNo thing, exclamation points help with it, I’m certain. 🙂

  6. Jesaka says:

    So impressed, Liz! I can’t wait to hear how this goes for you…and how you manage it with everything else you’ve got going on. I’ll be cheering you on, even if it’s hard to hear me from Denver.

  7. Liz says:

    Thanks, Jesaka! Wondering how I’ll pull it off, too! 🙂

Leave a Reply

