NaNo Day #23

So, NaNo ends in one week. At the beginning of this journey, November 30 seemed a long ways off. And now it’s just seven days away.

Word count: 31,019

What I’ve learned thus far:

  • I still like to write fiction! I started writing fiction in college but since I began writing again a few years ago, I’ve been focused on essays and non-fiction articles. This return to the world of fiction has been a good exercise and a good reminder for me.
  • If I focus, I have more time than I think I do to write. So, in all truth, I would not have believed you if you told me I would write more than 31,000 words in twenty-three days. “That’s crazy talk” would have been my response. But here I am, moving towards word number 31,020.
  • I actually like this book-in-a-month method. Back to one of my original NaNo posts, several years ago I thought a friend who was doing NaNo was nuts, out of her mind, off the deep end. Now I’m a firm believer. The freedom this model provides is just what I need to get me going. It will be interesting to revise in December, but with words on the page rather than somewhere in my head (imagine that!) I think it will be easier.

All this being said, it does feel like the timer is ticking. Seven days and 18,981 words to go.


This entry was posted in NaNoWriMo2010. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to NaNo Day #23

  1. Andrea says:

    Wow…that is amazing. I can’t even fathom writing more than three pages of a novel. You’re tempting me to try NaNo next year (though I wish it were in February or some other less hectic month than November…not that I couldn’t have my own private NaNo, but that’s not ever going to happen).

  2. YAY! Drew another one in… It is like belonging to a secret club, isn’t it? Somewhat masochistic, yes, but crazy-fun.

    I’m SO behind. But with 5 days off of work, I’m more determined than ever.
    Go, Liz, go!!

Leave a Reply

