2011: The Year of Belief

Happy New Year!

Conversations with my online writing group, as well as information I read in Sage Cohen’s Path of Possibility newsletter, inspired me to choose one word to define my writing life this year. I found what Sage wrote about choosing a word to be really helpful:

Having a single word as an organizing principle for your Productive Writer aspirations can be very powerful. At the start of each year, I choose a word to define the big-picture goal I intend to strive for (and reach) in the coming year…

Think about what you want to feel, believe, accomplish, or become this year, and choose a word that is worthy of this goal. Then write it down somewhere visible, refer to it often, and let it remind you where you’re headed.

After some thought, I’ve chosen the word belief. This word is around believing in myself and in my abilities. My focus this year is on reaching some new, big goals in my writing life. To do so I need to believe that I can and will reach these goals, and that I have the skills, knowledge, support and commitment to make it so. Belief is the key ingredient in this mix.

Have you chosen a word for 2011? Please share it here. I am convinced that through sharing we gain momentum and power behind our words.

And, if you want more thought-provoking tips like the one above from Sage, sign up for her free e-mail series at Path of Possibility. Also, look for more info about her most recent book, The Productive Writer, in the coming weeks here at Motherlogue!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to 2011: The Year of Belief

  1. Andrea says:

    This is such a great idea (I also received a copy of the Productive Writer, but have barely had a chance to crack the cover…). The word that just came to me as I read this is “free”–I need to free-up time to write, I need to loosen up and free myself to write, I need to free the writer inside! So that’s my word: Free. Thanks for the inspiration!

  2. Sage Cohen says:

    I’m imagining all of our words-of-the-year as a kind of constellation — a net of stars that will weave us together and keep our precious intentions protected. Thanks for sharing yours!

  3. Liz says:

    What a beautiful image of a net of stars protecting our intentions, Sage. Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

