All Over the Map

All over the map. That’s me right now. I am all over the map about most things at the moment, or so it feels.

Take, for instance, parenting. I find that I am seeking advice from books, friends, teachers, co-workers, strangers, blogs, even Facebook about how I should parent my sons. Next to my bed I have a stack of parenting books based on various theories, even one authored by Fred Rogers which has actually been removed from my room. (My younger son saw Mr. Rogers’ photo on the cover and has since moved that book into the room he and his brother share.)

In the world of writing, I am also all over the map. I have a gazillion feeds in my Google reader, many of them from folks offering writing advice. I get daily digests from the editors at Writer’s Digest. I check on various contest sites to see if there’s somewhere I should be sending my writing. Then there’s the consideration of whether or not I should attend one of four or five or six conferences that are happening in my state in the next several months. All the while, I am not doing much writing. (This is a problem.) I do have a children’s book drafted, as well as my NaNoWriMo novel that is in draft form. But then I’m wondering if I should be writing more essays? Maybe more parenting articles? Should I look into screen writing? (Okay, the last was an exaggeration, but I needed it for emphasis.)

It goes on and on – driven by a lack of sleep and an addiction to Facebook — both of which fuel late nights full of meaningless surfing. I think what I need is a GPS that can tell me which way to turn — preferably in a cool, British accent. Yes, that’ll do the trick. Won’t it?

This entry was posted in Modern Life, Parenting, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to All Over the Map

  1. Andrea says:

    I know how you feel…I have 100 distractions from writing going on now–knitting, sewing, swimming, yoga, reading–but they’re all good things, so it’s hard to tell myself “no more life-lengthening exercise!” But in the meantime there’s this book review I was supposed to have written by the middle of February, which was, like, yesterday.

    Good luck finding that life GPS and let me know where I can get mine (though I’m more of a low-tech map and compass gal).

  2. Jan Udlock says:

    Liz, I’m right there with you…been buying books, joining online classes, and plunking down money where I probably shouldn’t. I have to keep asking myself what am I really, r e a l l y searching for?

Leave a Reply

