Blogathon Theme: Five Favorite Writing Books

This theme is right up my alley — in my nearly 40 years, I’ve collected many a book on the topic of writing. There are at least two shelves in my home library dedicated to writing books. (Some might call this an addiction.) Among those many books, I definitely have favorites. Here are some of them:

  1. The Productive Writer (Sage Cohen, 2010) came into my life at the right moment. Sage speaks to possibility, to finding the path that’s right for each writer and offers useful tools to help all of us writers reach for our dreams. You can read my Q&A with Sage here.
  2. Bird by Bird (Anne Lamott, 1994) is a gift. I (heart) Anne Lamott.
  3. Pen on Fire: A Busy Woman’s Guide to Igniting the Writer Within (Barbara DeMarco-Barrett, 2004) is full of tips and writing exercises that this busy mama finds very easy to use and to implement in my writing life.
  4. Writer Mama (Christina Katz, 2007) is a book that helped me find that freelance writing is something I wanted to pursue and that I could start doing so by capturing my mama moments on paper. Read a Q&A with Christina here.
  5. Guide To Query Letters (Wendy Burt-Thomas, 2008) provides examples of good and not-so-good queries that help get the juices flowing when I draft queries. Wendy was my first author Q&A at Motherlogue, read her thoughts on writing here.
This entry was posted in 2011 WordCount Blogathon. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Blogathon Theme: Five Favorite Writing Books

  1. Jan Udlock says:

    I’m in line at the library to get Productive Writer. Great list! Hope you are pacing yourself.
    j

  2. Andrea says:

    Good list–I have three of those. My problem is I collect writing books, but don’t always get around to reading them (or doing the exercises).

  3. Tara says:

    Ha, I just wrote about this topic and mentioned addiction as well!

    I have Ann Lamott on my list too. Love her.

    Adding Pen on Fire to my list. Dang you!

  4. Liz says:

    Tara, it will go well with a glass of bourbon. Don’t worry :).

Leave a Reply

