Friday Flashback: 1981

The next four Fridays at Motherlogue will be a Friday flashback — recounting the past forty years by decade. So, we start our tour in 1981 when I was ten years old. Why am I doing this? Because there’s stuff that I’ve forgotten! This is a fun excuse to think back to “that was then.” (And it’s a great excuse for a blog post during a 31-day blogathon!)

  • Charles and Diana were wed (I recall watching this amazing wedding on a small color TV with a dial that changed the channel)
  • Chariots of Fire and On Golden Pond were in the theaters (both made me cry)
  • “Kiss on My List” was a hit — thank you, Hall & Oates! (I am proud to say I still listen to this dynamic pop duo)
  • Luke and Laura were big on General Hospital (do you notice our soap theme this week?)
  • US hostages were released in Iran (thank you, Jimmy Carter…not Ronald Reagan)
  • MTV is launched (I hope you were sitting down for that one. I just gasped. Remember wearing those little buttons that had the logo on them? On your jean jacket? Yes. Me, too.)
  • Simon & Garfunkel performed a free concert in Central Park (Also watched this on the TV with the dial!)
  • France abolishes capital punishment (I don’t recall this; however, I find it significant that this happened in France in 1981 and we are still practicing capital punishment in the U.S.)

What do you recall from 1981?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Friday Flashback: 1981

  1. Jan Udlock says:

    I remember watching the wedding. And thank you, that song is in my head now. 🙂

    Have a great weekend.
    j

  2. Tia Bach says:

    I loved this. I was 9 in 1981. Wasn’t that the year President Reagan was shot, too? Such a fun read. I’ve so enjoyed your blog this week!

  3. Liz says:

    Thanks, Tia. Yes, it was the year that President Reagan was shot — good memory! Glad you’ve enjoyed Motherlogue.

  4. Julie says:

    What a fun topic, and boy do I “ever” remember 1981. I was a junior in high school though. I remember watching Charles and Diana’s wedding, and who can forget that first MTV video, “Video killed the radio star” as well as how MTV changed the face of music. And…it was probably around ’81 that my parents bought our first VCR, which was grand because then I could watch taped General Hospital episodes after school! Gosh, I feel old now! 😉

  5. Liz,

    I was fairly young at that time, but I remember all of most things. Not the France thing and my sister was a fan of Hall and Oates, I thought they were cute. I remember locally we had one of the biggest snow storms that I can recall, do not think we have had one as bad as that year since then.

    Fun looking back, but also reminds me of how old I am getting. Thank goodness, I say, many people don’t make it to my age, I will be 43 this year and hope the see at least another 40 more.

    Happy blogging,
    Jenn

  6. Liz says:

    Yes, Jenn, here’s to at least 40 more years and to humming along with Daryl Hall and John Oates along the way. Julie, I’m now humming video kiilled the radio star. Wasn’t it a thrill to get a VCR? I remember that, too, although it was a few years later in our family, I think! Thanks to you both for stopping by.

  7. Tara says:

    Oh my gosh, what a post! I can’t believe it’s been 30 years. Thanks for the memories.

  8. Liz says:

    Get ready for 1991 next Friday, everyone!

  9. Wow, do I feel old. I was 26 in 1981 with three kids under 5. I remember Reagan’s inauguration, the attempted assasination, Natalie Wood’s death and Olivia Newton John’s “Physical” which we were just laughing about earlier. Wow how time flies! Great post, can’t wait for 1991.

  10. Liz says:

    Esther, that “Physical” song is one to laugh about…including the video and the wardrobe of those in the video! Good times with Olivia. Thanks for coming by. See you next week in 1991 :).

  11. Patti says:

    Getting caught up on my blog reading… I was in design school in Long Beach, CA in 81. I had tunnel vision, though I think it was that year that the Plimsouls played a show at a club across the street from my college – do you remember “A Million Miles Away”?

    What really sticks out for me that year was letting my mom talk me out of going to Missouri with my college roommate that summer to work on her dad’s ranch. I regret not holding my ground on that one. The thing is, when I look back I rarely regret anything I did, I only regret those things I didn’t do.

  12. Liz says:

    So, true what you said, Patti: The thing is, when I look back I rarely regret anything I did, I only regret those things I didn’t do.

Leave a Reply

