Friday Flashback: 1991

As I mentioned last week, Fridays at Motherlogue are Flashback Fridays in May. I am recounting the past by decade. So, we continue our tour with a stop in 1991 when I was twenty years old.

Why am I doing this? Because there’s stuff that I’ve forgotten! This is a fun excuse to think back to “that was then.” (And it’s a great excuse for a blog post during a 31-day blogathon!)

  • Pearl Jam and Queen were both popular bands (I didn’t discover Queen until 1994, and I never discovered Pearl Jam or the band Nirvana for that matter, in spite of living in Seattle, Grunge capital of the world!)
  • Popular movies were Sleeping with the Enemy (still makes me shiver), Father of the Bride and Silence of the Lambs (eeeeeeeeewwww)
  • MSDos5 came into the world, thanks to Microsoft
  • Nelson Mandela was released in 1990 and by 1991 the dismantling of apartheid had begun
  • Internet was made available to unrestricted use and the number of computers on the net reaches 1 million (do they even count how many computers there are today? That seems impossible!)

What do you recall from 1991?

This entry was posted in 2011 WordCount Blogathon. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Friday Flashback: 1991

  1. Tia Bach says:

    It was my first year in college and my first taste at being an adult. Plus, I met my future husband the third day of college, so it was full of first love. Great post!

  2. Peg Crippen says:

    I finished my bachelor’s degree that year. It was a good year!

  3. Jan Udlock says:

    I had 2 babies…but that’s all I remember.

  4. Jenni says:

    I saw Silence of the Lambs on a date in college that year and could hardly sleep for the next week! I also met my husband that year. Also never discovered Nirvana or Pearl Jam – no wonder we’re friends!

  5. Jesaka Long says:

    You’re Friday Flashbacks are so much fun, Liz! A great idea. As for 1991, I graduated from high school in Texas and started college in Colorado, where I first heard a little known punk rock-folk singer named Ani DiFranco.

  6. Tara says:

    In 1991 I was a freshman in college. Oh man, too many memories to list, many of which would just embarrass me or someone else anyway. I agree with Jesaka that these flashbacks are a treat!

  7. Jan, I love these flashbacks. Silence of the Lambs scared me to death! How about Thelma and Louise? Has it really been that long ago?

  8. Sorry Liz, don’t know who Jan is! Brain drain Friday I guess

  9. Liz says:

    Esther – I’m impressed…yes, I just looked at Thelma and Louise and it’s from 1991. That’s crazy! So glad that everyone enjoys these flash backs. Thank you for stopping by.

  10. Julie says:

    I was trying to think what I remembered about 1991 and couldn’t think of a specific thing and then I remembered…our daughter was one year old then…aha…no wonder I don’t remember much! I was busy learning how to be a mom!

  11. Liz says:

    Yes, Julie, when trying to figure out that motherhood thing, I was in a bit of a haze, too. Induced, in part, from a lack of sleep!

  12. 1991 – I graduated college and went to work in Bahrain as a reporter. It was a busy year!

  13. I was in my first job out of journalism grad school (weird, this is the 3rd comment I’ve left somewhere today mentioning that job) and the publisher I worked for got desktop computers for the first time. I used WordStar on a monitor that displayed white text on a black screen. No wonder I ended up needing glasses by the end of the year.

    Michelle Rafter

  14. Scratch that – that was 1981 or 82. Nevermind.

    Michelle

  15. Rachel says:

    this was the decade that I had the great fortune to meet you Liz, and I will remember forever going to see Evita with you! I think you are a wonderful amazing woman and I know you will see in the decade (just ever so slightly before me) with a roar and a cuddle in your heart. I am so thankful to have you in my life! xoxoxoxo Rachel in NZ

Leave a Reply

