20 great things about being (nearly) 40

This is the first of a two-part series on 40 great things about being (nearly) 40. I’ll share twenty things today and the second twenty sometime between now and May 31.

  1. Feeling good in my own skin.
  2. Following my passion.
  3. Being married to my best friend.
  4. Raising two wonderful boys.
  5. Realizing I have curly hair.
  6. Taking chances.
  7. Learning from life’s lessons.
  8. Writing and publishing my words.
  9. Seeking balancing.
  10. Embracing spirituality.
  11. Listening to my heart. Thump thump. Thump thump.
  12. Knowing we’ll survive (maybe thrive?) without a clean bathroom.
  13. Reading books I enjoy, returning the others, unread, to the library.
  14. Sharing writing time at Women Write Night.
  15. Meeting new friends through my kids.
  16. Appreciating all the ways my mom supports me.
  17. Sitting in the back yard.
  18. Going camping, mostly in the rain.
  19. Building a new kind of relationship with my dad.
  20. Drinking Clover-brewed coffee. (If you like coffee, go to a Starbucks and try this…not all stores have this machine. But it’s worth it to find one!)
This entry was posted in 2011 WordCount Blogathon. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to 20 great things about being (nearly) 40

  1. Tia Bach says:

    Can’t wait for the rest of the list. You are actually inspiring me to turn 40, and I wasn’t even dreading it to begin with. Thanks for all the great posts. I’m a fan!

  2. Julie S says:

    #5 is hilarious. It took me forever to realize that I had STRAIGHT hair. And if I will just work with it, it looks so much better. I always tried to make it be something it wasn’t. Whew, glad I figured that out!!

  3. Liz says:

    @Tia, glad you’re feeling inspired :)! @ Julie, I think we weren’t not alone, trying to make our hair something it’s not. Seems to me many women are fraught with “the other side of the fence is greener” in regards to hair. Men on the other hand? They just get the clippers!

  4. I love the “thrive without a clean bathroom” point. Way to turn a negative into a positive! I’ve heard lots of good things about leaving houses/bathrooms/kitchens germy, and, hey no one in my family gets sick very often so it must be working! (-:

  5. Trelawney says:

    You’re inspiring, Liz! 🙂 Thank you for sharing your thoughts and perspective on turning 40. It’s not very far off for me, and I’m starting to think that leaving my 30s will be just a threshold to a new adventure.

    #13 speaks to me. I’ve battled through some books lately that I should’ve just put down. The to-read shelf is too full for me to waste time on books that aren’t interesting to me.

    And #14 is also wonderful! I’m so happy that I finally made time to join in on Women Write Night. I enjoyed meeting everyone (such bright, interesting women!) and getting some more work done on my novel. Thanks! 🙂

  6. I think one of the best things about turning 40 was feeling good in my own skin. When we can do that we can enjoy the decade rather than battling it trying to be something we’re not. I agree with @Kids and Mental Health, “surviving and thriving without a clean bathroom” or whatever has been a big learning for me too! I also loved the reading books you like and returning the unread books to the library. I love my local library so much they know me by name. It’s one of the reasons I picked where I live…I can walk there everyday if I want. Thanks Liz!

  7. Pingback: 20 more great things about 40 | Motherlogue

Leave a Reply

