Friday Flashback: 2001

Fridays in May at Motherlogue are Flashback Fridays. So, we continue our tour with a stop in 2001 when I was thirty years old.

Why am I doing this? Because there’s stuff that I’ve forgotten! This is a fun excuse to think back to “that was then.” (And it’s a great excuse for a blog post during a 31-day blogathon!)

More than the flashbacks from 1981 and 1991, looking at this list of things that happened in 2001 is surprising.

Where did ten years go?

  • Terrorists crashed airplanes into the World Trade Center in New York City and the Pentagon in Washington, D.C.
  • First Apple Store opened and Apple launched the iPod
  • Enron filed for Chapter 11 bankruptcy protection
  • One of the top music hits (that I actually know and liked) was “Thank You” by Dido
  • The movie Shrek was in theaters (in 1991 I could have cared less about this movie; since then, thanks to having kids, I’ve realized that these are fun movies)
  • I married my sweet husband

So, what do you think? Have ten years really gone by? What do you recall from 2001?

This entry was posted in 2011 WordCount Blogathon. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Friday Flashback: 2001

  1. Julie S says:

    Fun idea! Where does the time go? My oldest child was born in 2001. I can’t believe she will be 10 soon – that is harder to comprehend than my turning 40 this year!

  2. It was a turning point year in my daughter’s life, and the beginning of one in mine that I wouldn’t find out about till the end of the following year, and both began right after 9/11, though I don’t think there was an actual connection. It’s just a memory point.

  3. Trelawney says:

    Congratulations on 10 years of marriage, Liz! I hadn’t realized that that milestone was this year for you 🙂

    I hadn’t realized that Dido’s Thank You came out in 2001. It’s one of my karaoke faves (though not my 18-ban!).

  4. I remember lots from that year, but on the travel front, I spent that summer in Virginia, saw Pennsylvania for the first time, and nearly my entire family (parents, sister, uncles, aunt, grandpa) trekked from Washington state to Washington, D.C. for a vacation. We still laugh about all the mishaps we had (like one of my uncles getting his car towed by parking it in a place that was clearly marked as a tow-away zone, then having to walk miles and miles to get it out of hawk).

  5. Tia Bach says:

    Congrats on 10 years of marriage. I’ll never forget 2001 (as I’m sure many feel). I was 4 months pregnant with my second child and had a 16 month old. My husband and I were moving from Chicago to San Diego, so we were in two separate states when everything happened 9/11. I remember holding my baby and patting my tummy and praying. But also nice to see Shrek in there. I, too, didn’t appreciate it for a few more years. Thanks for the fun post!!

  6. Tracy Weaver says:

    2001 was an amazing year for our little family. We welcomed Jonathan Charles into the world and our family was also blessed with our favorite Aunt Liz! I remember watching Shrek for the first time and thinking I would never allow my kids to watch it-they loved it when they saw it. 🙂

  7. Liz says:

    Thanks, all, for stopping by. Much joy and sadness (and walking for Haley’s uncle) in 2001!

Leave a Reply

