Monday Madness for week of May 16

Boy, what a week it was last week. I was uber-busy, but still had time to check out  blogs from my fellow Blogathoners  and found these fabulous reads, many related to technology.

The world of SEO (search engine optimization) seems mysterious to me. Michelle Rafter (creator and wrangler of the Blogathon) offered seven great suggestions (albeit this was a link to an article from May 2010, but I still found it useful this week). Her post includes a helpful definition and some what’s in it for me that I could wrap my mind around: SEO, or search engine optimization, is a method for structuring blog posts or articles so they show up higher in searches on Google, Bing, Yahoo or other search engines.

Along the same lines, Mary Rarick’s guest post at Jan Udlock’s Imperfect Mom blog offered great tips for freelances about why it’s a good idea to use Twitter. Thanks to Jan for hosting Mary. Incidentally Mary is an editor I wrote for at Portland Family magazine. She is a gem.

But what of all this technology, can it be *too* much? Alison at Alison Law Communications talks about information overload and how she is making an effort to unplug every now and again. Alison’s post inspired me to think about incorporating a technology free evening at our house (gasp!)

And while we’re speaking of clutter, this post on the non-technical side addresses clutter in one’s home. I know nothing of this topic personally (yeah, right). Mamaah had me at the first line: I’ve always had a special way with clutter. LOL. That is awesome, and so is her list of 25 reasons to clear the clutter.

Okay. I’ll sign off on that note. Will I check email? Twitter? Facebook? Will I clear some clutter? Is the sky blue? (Ah, so witty late at night!)

This fun photo of an electrical socket? You can thank my friends at stock.xchng for it.

This entry was posted in 2011 WordCount Blogathon. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Monday Madness for week of May 16

  1. Alison Law says:

    Liz,
    What a nice rundown of some of the fabulous blogs and posts from our fellow Blogathoners. The most difficult, yet fun, part of this challenge has been sampling all the fare. Glad to find you here. Let me know if you have a tech-free night. I’m thinking this Wednesday for me.
    Best,
    Alison

  2. I can’t believe I missed most of these posts. I defnitely want to check out the Twitter post on Jan’s blog. Love these roundups. It’s so fun to see what catches another reader’s critical eye. Makes me curious to go see for myself. That’s a good thing.

  3. Liz says:

    I agree – it has been hard to a) blog every day and b) check out what other bloggers have done. Glad I could help with these great posts! Alison, I am struggling with what night to pick! This is a sign. 🙂

  4. intralingo says:

    All great posts, Liz. Thanks for the roundup! And here’s hoping for a less uber-busy week and a night of no technology for you!

    We’re hoping to go to the cottage later this week where I’ll (mostly) unplug… I’ve got WordPress, Twitter and e-mail on my phone, though, so it’s going to be a challenge! (And I’m NOT going to miss posting for the last few days of May… ) 😉

  5. Jan Udlock says:

    Thank you for the mention or shout out…or whatever it’s called. 🙂

    I, too, have missed many great posts from everybody. It has been a whirlwind adventure. Fabulous conglomeration of posts!
    j

  6. admin says:

    Liz, Great perspective on some of the best blog posts of the week! I agreed wholeheartedly with Allison Law’s post about unplugging. About 4 months ago, my family made a decision to let the cable television go. It was the best decision we eveer made. We spend more time together as a family TALKING and I get a lot more work done throughout the week. I encourage anyone to try it for one week and see what a difference it makes. – Tess

  7. Liz says:

    Tess, we haven’t had TV for 15 years and it’s been great. We watch a few shows on Hulu.com or DVD but as for cable or “regular” TV it’s been 15 years. I thought it would be terrible. But, like you said, best decision ever and I don’t miss it! And Jan, yes, a whirlwind is right!

  8. Alexandra says:

    Thanks for these recommendations. Really the biggest challenge for me is sampling the other blogs this year. Last year there were half as many and I was able to read half a dozen a day. This year the very idea overwhelms me. And, another vote here for unplugging!

  9. Liz, thanks for the shout-out, and I *love* the ‘face’ in the electrical outlet. The decluttering continues at my house — I’m working on some picture posts now to capture the changes I’m making! Feeling better every day. What a relief! What a blessing! xoxox jenni

  10. Sunni says:

    Wow – that post on 25 reasons to unclutter was a gem!!! My “house since children were born” is literally. driving. me. crazy. Thanks for the empathy and the inspiration! I have to log off now and go tackle a stack or two. 🙂

Leave a Reply

