Books, books and more books!

I saw this post from Lisa at Intralingo about five books on her bookshelf and realized that I needed to have a similar post here at Motherlogue. I received several wonderful books recently and have been struggling with getting time to read. Here’s four books that I’m currently trying to read — all at once, of course:

The Happiest Mom: I am so enjoying this book. It’s written by a mother of five who contributes to Parenting magazine. It’s basically her 10 tips for being a happier mom. One of the key things I’ve learned thus far, thanks to the book, is that if a kid needs to wear a dirty shirt, is it the end of the world? No. Ah, liberating! (Thanks to my friend Jan for this birthday treat.)

Depression Cookies: Through the 2011 Blogathon,  I met Tia Silverthorne Bach, co-author of Depression Cookies. From the beginning of the blogathon I was curious about her book. I am now in possession of the book and can’t wait to dig in. As I’ve mentioned, I’ll be hosting Tia and her mom (the other co-author) here sometime soon. Just need to get reading!

See It. Say It. Do It. Tah-Dah! This is a book about the power of visualization for kids, written by Dr. Lynn F. Hellerstein. I heard Dr. Hellerstein speak at my office last week and she was wonderful. Her work addresses how visualization can help kids in school and through her work as an optometrist she helps kids work on focusing their eye movement so they can become better readers and writers. Great stuff!

The Beautiful One Has Come is a book of short stories by Suzanne Kamata. I’ve read two of the stories so far and they are delightful. I always enjoy Suzanne’s perspective about life in Japan and as a mother. I plan to invite Suzanne for an author Q&A in the near future as well.

What is on your bookshelf, and more importantly, when do you find the time to read?

This entry was posted in Reading. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Books, books and more books!

  1. Lisa Carter says:

    Hey Liz!

    Glad today’s post of mine was inspiring… 😉

    On your list, I’ve just finished reading Depression Cookies and hope to host Tia and Angela on my blog at some point, too. And I’m very intrigued by The Beautiful One Has Come. Uh oh, adding another book to my already overcrowded shelves…

  2. Tia Bach says:

    The Happiest Mom sounds like one I need to read. Thanks so much, Liz, for the Depression Cookies shout-out. I can’t wait to hear what you, Lisa & Jan think about it. You’ve all been so supportive. I feel like I’m hanging with the cool crowd now!

Leave a Reply

