Five Things to Learn from a Facebook Detox

I’ve been off of Facebook for six days. This is big for me. I realized I needed to step away from the status updates, the lurking around in friends’ photos, the never ending refresh to see what was new in my news stream. What have I learned this week?

1. People are either a) very curious/cannot understand WHY anyone would voluntarily stop using Facebook or b) get it and offer encouragement.

2. I’m not really any less “in the know” or at least I don’t know what I don’t know and I’m still able to function.

3. I was able to get writing done in a more timely fashion.

4. It’s handy to share many of the same friends with my husband so that he can give me the updates. (Is that kind of cheating?)

5. I think in status updates (i.e., I was writing them in my head and not posting them). This scares me.

How about you, have you ever taken a purposeful break from Facebook? How long was it? What did you learn? Never taken one and never want to? Share why you feel that way.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Five Things to Learn from a Facebook Detox

  1. I guess we all have slightly different addictions. I could give up FB without a lot of trouble but giving up Twitter would be a whole different ballgame. I think we find more peace when we accomplish something that is hard for us.

    Congratulations.

  2. Tia Bach says:

    I have taken a break from posting/replying, but I tend to drop by and watch. Not sure what it says about our society, this overwhelming and constant need to know. I need to try a three day FB & Twitter boycott and if GASP the world stops turning. Proud of you!

  3. Stephanie says:

    Good for you for giving yourself a break from FB! I find myself increasingly drawn in by both Facebook and my email accounts, and at least once a day I think that I need an internet vacation. 🙂 I love your #5 about “thinking in status updates.” I have caught myself doing that too!

  4. Leah says:

    I took a break recently (as you know, Liz, you commented encouragingly 🙂 ) because I just started graduate school and had a big paper to get done and I knew I’d never finish it by the deadline if I didn’t make good use of every minute. I got my paper done, but I still found myself thinking in status updates, like you say. Part of me wanted to write them down to use later once my self-imposed ban was over. How sad is that?!

    What do you think about status updates as writing practice? I sometimes think trying to write something witty, informative and concise is a good exercise.

  5. Liz says:

    I think it’ s funny that many of us think in FB updates! That’s a new thing, since FB hasn’t been around THAT long. @Leah, you’re right — it is kind of a writing practice, even shorter than Flash Fiction!

Leave a Reply

