Finding Clarity with a Writing “Board of Directors”

Lately I’ve been thinking about how it’s easy for me to get overloaded by information about writing. I’ve lost track of how many writing newsletters I receive, how many writing blogs to which I subscribe and how many listservs I’ve joined.

The sources of incoming information in my inbox are in the triple digits. All of these sources provide helpful tools, ideas and great information. I find myself wanting to soak up every last bit of info so that I can be a successful writer. But there comes a point when it’s just too much. In an attempt to take in all the information, I lose my sense of direction for what’s important to me in my writing.

Solution: In a moment of clarity the other night, I realized that I need to construct my personal Writing Board of Directors — the people that advise me (either in person or through their books, blogs, newsletters) on how to go about my writing life.

  • I’m looking at the board as a group of “senpais” to use the Japanese word for one who has gone before you, who is an expert or a mentor.
  •  Just as board members in corporations or non-profits change, so can my board members. The board will be limited to four members. If someone new is coming in, then an existing board member’s tenure is up (although they could come back for another term when needed).

Introducing my writing board: 

Wish me luck. It’s going to take some heavy lifting to keep me focused. But I know the effort will be worth it.

Do you find it difficult to handle the information overload? Who’s on your writing board of directors?

This entry was posted in Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Finding Clarity with a Writing “Board of Directors”

  1. Kelly and Michelle (who I know personally) are terrific choices. I think it’s really smart to limit how much you focus on technique and the just get ON with writing. I read Kristen Lamb and Betsy Lerner, but the latter more for amusement.

    I turn to fellow writers for individual advice, as needed, through ASJA, to which I (and Kelly) belong.

  2. Liz, I love this idea. An effective way to deal with the river of information we’re faced with every day.

  3. Liz says:

    Caitlin, thanks for stopping by Motherlogue. I agree…often it’s just about getting ON with the writing! I look forward to reading Malled — I was intrigued when I saw Michelle’s post about it at SecondAct.

  4. Liz says:

    Jenni, yes a river of information…coming out of a fire hose!

  5. Kim says:

    This is a great idea! I have one too many books on writing, and I can’t keep up with all of the writing blogs. I think having a board of certain individuals to provide different information is a great idea! Now to narrow it down!

  6. Liz says:

    Kim, I think I could make some *big* money if I sold all the writing books I own! I agree, narrowing down the list of advisors is the tough part. But I felt better about it when I told myself I could change it up anytime, based on my focus at that point.

  7. Sage Cohen says:

    Thrilled and honored to be on your board, my dear!

Leave a Reply

