Thankful Thursday: The Food On Our Plates

Every night we eat dinner together as a family. And at some point during the meal, we go around the table and each share one thing from our day for which we’re thankful. We’ve done this for a few years and include any guest who eats with us in the ritual. (Lucky guests!)

My younger son, who is four years old, often expresses his thanks for a food item on his plate.

“Tonight I’m thankful we have milk.”

“I’m thankful I have a burrito.”

“Ummmm….I am thankful for this orange!” “For this carrot!” “For my noodles!” You get the idea.

The rest of us nod, waiting to share our more “enlightened” reasons for giving thanks. I mean, really, he’s just looking at his plate for a clue as to what he should say. (Wink, wink, nudge, nudge.)

Tonight I realized: he’s got the right idea.

Yes, we should be thankful for the lofty things the rest of us mention when giving thanks: our family, a good spelling test, the arrival of a weekend, a pleasant day together, or safe travel home from a vacation. But at the core, we must also be grateful for the basic necessities we enjoy. The things we have that many others don’t. The food that is on our table. The blankets on our beds. The hot water in our pipes. The roof over our heads. The new shoes we purchase (at least once) for our sons every year.

This Thursday, I’m thankful for a powerful life lesson from the most thoughtful four-year-old boy I know. (And, yes, I’m thankful for the burrito, too.)

Blogathon note: Thursdays in the month of May (and who knows, maybe beyond) will officially be Thankful Thursdays. Tune in to get your dose of weekly gratitude, Motherlogue style.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Thankful Thursday: The Food On Our Plates

  1. tonya says:

    Thankful for your Blog today Liz!

  2. Liz says:

    Thanks for stopping by, Tonya!

  3. Tia Bach says:

    Liz, it’s so wonderful to see you back in the blogging universe. I’ve missed you! Your son nailed it… sometimes the little things are the ones we need to be the most thankful of. Hugs.

  4. Liz, you are fortunate to have started your “I am thankful for…” routine when you have a four-year-old. Our two daughters were middle school school age when my husband came up with the idea of sharing something we did fun that day. It was a wonderful bonding experience for the four of us.

  5. Liz says:

    Tia! Good to be back and so good to see you. Looking forward to stopping by soon.

  6. Liz says:

    Thanks for the comment, Barbara! I’m glad that your kids still were into this at an older age. I’ve worried that our boys might not be at middle school age. Regardless, we’ll keep doing it…I see way too many benefits not to have this nightly exchange.

  7. intralingo says:

    Hi, Liz! It’s good to read your Thankful Thursday post and it comes at a time when I was thinking about this very thing. A good friend of ours is going through a very rough time and told me the other day that he was eating only one meal a day because that’s what he could afford. There is so much we should be thankful for on a day-to-day basis but that often we take for granted. It’s precious to have your son there to remind you of the “little” things.

Leave a Reply

