Imperfect Is The New Perfect

I saw the phrase, “Imperfect is the new perfect” on Facebook the other day. I liked it — both the post and the sentiment.

I struggle with wanting everything to be just right. To not make mistakes. To demonstrate my skills. To keep it together. Show folks I have things. in. control.

But I’ve realized (since turning 40 last year) that it doesn’t really get me anywhere…this never-ending desire for perfection. So, over the last 12 months I’ve been practicing imperfection. Letting my son wear his baseball uniform that just came out of the (dirty) laundry to his game. Not signing up to volunteer at every school event. Not minding when the couch stays in the fort formation for longer than it “should” be there. Embracing that frozen pizza is really an okay option for dinner if it saves me from melting on the floor after a long day at work.

And…laughing (instead of feeling stupid or lame or less than) when I figured out that I’d posted a “Thankful Thursday” post on a Wednesday. (That would be the case with yesterday’s post.)

Basically, I’m not sweating the small stuff. And for that, I’m actually very thankful.

Looking for a really good read on imperfection? Check out The Gifts of Imperfection, a book by Brene Brown. Her blog is Ordinary Courage.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Imperfect Is The New Perfect

  1. blessedmamaof5 says:

    Liz, yes! It probably takes 10 lbs of stress off our shoulders, too.

    Thanks from one imperfect mom to another. 🙂
    Hugs,

  2. Patrick says:

    The younger me thanks you! Forts can take a long time to build!

  3. Tia Bach says:

    I need to embrace the imperfect, too, so this post was quite timely for me. Thanks for sharing. Happy Mother’s Day!

  4. Pingback: Thursday Thankful: Losing the Race for Student Body President | Motherlogue

Leave a Reply

