Blogathon Theme Day: If I Started Blogging Today I Would…

Today’s Blogathon Theme topic has me thinking: are there things I would do differently, now that I’ve been blogging here for over three years?  (Read my first post from October 2008 here.)

My usual mode of operation is to seek ways to improve. That’s a good thing; it can bring about change as well as help identify better ways of doing things. However, one of my managers at work  shared a wise philosophy with me. She said, “Don’t feel like you have to find an area for improvement,” when we were looking at my self-review. “That’s on your record forever. Don’t just dream one up for the sake of filling in the form.” I’d done exactly that. And really, is it an “area of opportunity” if your focus on time management means your meetings start on time and that causes difficulty for others who tend to run late? I got her point.

That’s a pretty radical thought for a corporate manager to share with someone who works for her, but it has stuck with me. And it comes to mind with today’s theme. I’m not saying I’m perfect. Nor do I want to be. But, are there really things I’d do differently if I started blogging today? Or has my blogging experience unfolded just as it should?

Yes, maybe I would have purchased the URL for this site early on. I’d like to do that now, but then that will require some extra work. At the same time, I didn’t know three and a half years ago that I’d still enjoy posting at Motherlogue so much. I could have purchased the URL then, and then let the blog drop six months later. Wasting money = bad.

Maybe I wish I would have understood just a little more (read: anything) about tags, categories and SEO when I started. Maybe I should have read a book or been more purposeful in my blogging platform. Maybe I should have started interacting with the blogging community earlier? Sure, in hindsight all of those things wouldn’t have hurt.

At the same time, through this blog I’ve been able to:

  • quiet my inner muse
  • connect with readers
  • publish my words
  • interview and highlight authors I admire
  • showcase my clips and writing style for current and future editors
  • share those mama moments
  • celebrate my 40th birthday (for a month!)
  • participate in two blogathons
  • chronicle my NaNoWriMo experience
  • learn about blogging by doing it

Three years ago I didn’t have those results in mind. It’s been organic and I’m happy with it.

This entry was posted in 2012 Blogathon, Blogging. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Blogathon Theme Day: If I Started Blogging Today I Would…

  1. intralingo says:

    I like that: Don’t feel like you have to have an area for improvement. Sometimes it’s good to enjoy where we’re at, rather than always striving for more. That said , I think if I started my blog today I’d join something like Blogathon right away to get readership up and encourage me to keep posting. I started my blog about 6 years ago, but stopped posting because I wondered who was out there and why was I writing if no one was reading! Blogathon and Twitter helped me get much more exposure and now I love posting regularly.

  2. Tia Bach says:

    I love that you pointed out what you’ve done right. I’ve learned so much about blogging, and the best way to learn is do. I don’t regret much, but I would change some things (SEO and tags are a great one – forgot about that!) if I could go back. Like you, it’s hard to say if changing it would have taught me the same things, and I like what I’ve learned.

    I’m glad you love writing here, because I enjoy reading it!!

  3. Jesaka Long says:

    Such a fun, and hard, question to ponder. We started blogging around the same time and I enjoyed learning more about your writing. In fact, I wish I’d known the great connections you can make with a blog–but I guess I learned that anyway. The one change I would make would have been to be more daring with my own voice. Since I was also using my blog to my freelance copywriting going, I felt I had to very careful and, eventually, I felt very constrained by that. (Which is what led to me starting jesakalong.tumblr.com – a totally different approach and not targeted to potential clients.)
    p.s. MAJOR kudos to your manager. That does take guts and it’s refreshing to hear that someone sees all the great about you.

  4. Liz says:

    Somehow I thought you had been blogging longer than me, Jesaka! I can see how the business aspect made you feel constrained. That being said, I have always felt like yours was an honest, open blog and your personality shines through!

  5. Liz says:

    I’m glad you enjoy reading here, Tia! And yes, I don’t know that I would have learned the same things had I done this process any differently, either.

  6. Liz says:

    I think the “is anyone reading this?” moments are something we all experience :).

Leave a Reply

