Saturday Stand Outs

Note: There are 252 bloggers participating in this year’s Blogathon. That means there’s a lot to read. Every Saturday in May, I’m  posting links to three of the posts that really stood out from the many (fabulous) posts I read the previous week.

I’m so glad I spotted this post about Summer Plans from Still Living the Dream about how she’s going to take a challenge to have some serious fun with her kids this summer. I can totally relate to the initial, “This is going to be THE summer” feeling that dwindles into DVDs and lost potential. Thanks to her recommendation, I just signed up for the Summer Bucket List Challenge from The Happy Family Movement. Rock on! Thank you, Still Living the Dream for a great resource.

Jennifer from My Morning Chocolate had such a great perspective about how our goals and needs as bloggers change. And, that’s okay…we don’t need to stay in a rut. Sure, the readers may disappear but if you’re getting what YOU need out of your blog, you’re ahead of the game.

Finally, a shout-out to Annette Gendler whom I met through last year’s Blogathon. In her post about what she’d do differently, I found out more about her process for changing the look of her blog. I love Annette’s honesty in this post — at first she ignored what she heard and read about using white font on her blog. Then, she gave a new look a try and, voila — a 50% increase in views. I personally love the new look of her blog, and agree…it’s much cleaner and easier to read. What Annette writes is definitely worth reading, so I’m glad to see it showcased in such a lovely format. Nice work, Annette! (Makes me want to customize my blog, too!)

This entry was posted in 2012 Blogathon. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Saturday Stand Outs

  1. Thanks so much for the mention! I hope my post didn’t give the impression that bloggers shouldn’t care about their readers. I do think that’s important too. But if your goals change, I also think bloggers should feel comfortable with letting their blogs evolve. Hopefully then we’ll attract new readers who are interested in our new perspectives!

  2. Liz says:

    Thanks for stopping by, Jennifer! I didn’t think your post was advocating bloggers shouldn’t care about readers (and I was probably too flippant in how I mentioned it). I liked your idea of not writing what you didn’t want to write and also of readers not having to keep reading if a new topic didn’t resonate with them. And, yes, plenty of new readers with whom to engage. Happy blogging!

Leave a Reply

