NaNo has begun!

footer-nanowrimoNaNoWriMo has begun.

Today I woke up late. I have a sick kid at home. But, I managed to get in 1,704 words. (I’d never have done that if I wasn’t participating in NaNo.)

I’m aiming for 2,000 per day so that I am not stressed about word count when Thanksgiving arrives.

In my prep for Halloween, I didn’t manage to write the last two “what I love about NaNo” posts that I’d planned to write here at Motherlogue. So I’m going to capture two things I love about NaNo, ideas came to me as I sat typing on my NaNo novel this morning:

  • NaNo offers me the chance to recall writing advice, lessons and tips I’ve learned through the years. Today as I was cruising along, I was wrapping up the first chapter. I was tempted to stop there. But, I knew I needed to start the next chapter — it will make it much easier (as I read from some famous author) to jump back in if I leave the writing at an “unfinished place”. Remembering this made me feel confident: there are things I’ve learned and can recall about writing that will help me make this huge goal.
  • NaNo provides an opportunity to get focused. As I announced on my Facebook page last night — I’m taking a month-long hiatus from Facebook. (Gasp!)  To be honest, this morning I did one 5-minute check to see if anyone had commented on the post about my hiatus. People left great encouragement, I read their kind words and now I’m off for good. Really. (And yes, I do have a problem). This month hiatus will be a good opportunity for me to focus and get a little less dependent on social media.

Thanks for being here. Write on.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to NaNo has begun!

  1. Jan Udlock says:

    Hey Liz, That’s a great idea about fasting FB! Wishing you loads of button chair time! j

  2. Aunt Stephanie says:

    Go girl!!
    Aunt Stephanie
    xxo

Leave a Reply

