If you were wondering…

footer-nanowrimoIf you were wondering, I’m still at the NaNoWriMo challenge. On Saturday I reached 15,000 words in my “novel in stories”.

This is hard! (Hmmm…have I said that before?)

It’s also great. I’ve been reminded how fun it is to watch stories evolve and take surprising shape. Go in directions I hadn’t anticipated.

That reminds me of a time when I heard Kazuo Ishiguro speak. From his British perspective, he admitted that he thought it was just a little crazy when American writers talked like the story was in charge.

“Who is writing it anyway?” he wondered out loud.

Whether it’s me writing the story or my novel writing it, this thing is still being written… little by little.

This entry was posted in NaNoWriMo. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to If you were wondering…

  1. Barbara Moretti says:

    Never doubted you were continuing to follow your dream! Congrats, Liz!

    Sent from my iPad

  2. Tia Bach says:

    As hard as I’ve tried to outline, plot, and plan, I am definitely a writer who prefers to just write and see a story take shape. My characters love to surprise me. The hardest part of NaNo for me is silencing my inner editor. Wishing you all the best!

  3. Liz says:

    Thanks, Barb! I’m with you, Tia — NaNo is all about making the inner critic in my head be quiet :). Will look forward to celebrating 50K with you this year! (Never mind that I’m behind on my word count…again!)

Leave a comment