The last week of NaNo

footer-nanowrimoNext week at this time, NaNoWriMo will be over. The last few days, it’s consumed me. My laptop has been out and I’ve grabbed every minute possible to add words to the page.

I’m now at 35,019 words. (Less than 15K to go!)

At some point last week my six-year-old son asked me, as we were walking up our front steps, “Mama, how many words have you written in your novel?”

I told him my total and mentioned that I still had a ways to go.

“I know!” he said, the excitement clear as he turned around to face me on the steps.

“You can type in the car when we drive to Thanksgiving,” he suggested.

The fact that this sweet boy of mine was helping me think of ways to make my goal? Well, that made me all the more fired up to get those 50,000 words on the page.

One word at a time.

This entry was posted in NaNoWriMo. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The last week of NaNo

  1. Patrick says:

    What a great cheering section you have! He made working on the car ride sound fun.

  2. Andrea says:

    Awesome! You go, go, go!!

  3. Bernard says:

    My gosh you’ve been busy. Happy Thanksgiving to you and your family. B&J

  4. Liz says:

    Yes, Patrick, he gave a good sales pitch. Thanks for your support, Andrea. And, Bernard! So nice to read your comment – wonderful to see you here.

  5. What a rock star. Love that he’s invested in your goal, too, the sweetie. Way to go, Liz! Your “words to go” number is not such a distant light at the end of that tunnel – go, go, go!

Leave a comment