Parent education in 2011? Turn to Facebook!

Last night, at the end of what felt like a very a long day with a just-turned four year old in the house, I updated my status to say this:
So far the age of four seems to be *really* trying for the mother, father, older brother and even random strangers who have the pleasure of being around said four-year-old individual. Just sayin’.


Within minutes, there were friends from high school, college, work, from around the world, liking my status. Those who I’d known pre-kids and those I’ve met since having kids were leaving comments. Instantly I felt better.

Sometimes I felt better because someone had a “worse than” story . Or the simple, “I hear ya” that helped me feel less alone in the tug-o-war. Or perspective from parents who now have older kids, who’ve been where I am and looking back can safely say the tantrum of a four-year-old child will pass. Some even said they’d take puberty over this age.

I think about parenting and how it can be isolating. How, when walking through the grocery with a child who is throwing a fit and all the older women wearing galoshes are tsk tsk tsking you as you pass, it feels like no one has ever done this before you. And that you’re doing it all wrong. And that your kid will suffer for the rest of his life because you growled at him to get out of the car. Now.

But these Facebook moments when I get support from around the world? They bring the lousy day back into perspective. I’m part of a community of parents. My sons will have good days and they’ll have bad days. So will I. And that’s okay. Because soon enough these two beautiful boys of mine will hit puberty.

And, from what I hear on Facebook, that’s a piece of cake.

This entry was posted in Parenting. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Parent education in 2011? Turn to Facebook!

  1. As a parent of 2 teens, Facebook offers so many things: parental support and kid stalking, all just a click away! I always found playing Gloria Gaynor’s “I Will Survivie” –really loud–got me through the roughest patches. At the very least, it drowned out the tantrums. Good luck and happy parenting!

  2. Tia Bach says:

    I love FB for parental venting, too. We’re all in the same boat, but hopefully on different days so we can encourage others before our ship begins sinking again. 😉

  3. Liz says:

    You’re so right, Tia…it’s always good to have these vents on different days :)!

  4. Liz says:

    Thanks for stopping by, Transitioning Mom! And what would life be without Gloria Gaynor? Thanks for that fun image/reminder. (My sons often take to dancing with me when I crank that one on the stereo. Perfect release for us all.)

Leave a comment